childstill.blogg.se

Only 30% of my dna matches my father
Only 30% of my dna matches my father












only 30% of my dna matches my father

So he matches my uncle less than I do despite my uncle being 1 generation closer to our common ancestor(s) on my father’s side. If I go to my uncle’s account and I search for P.H., I see he is my uncles’ 12th closest match, only matching 94 cM with longest block 32 cM. The blue icon indicates that Family Tree DNA thinks P.H. My uncle is on my father’s side and my 1C1R is on my mother’s side, so this may be a case where endogamy is taking over and I am related on both sides. Our in-common matches show my uncle first, and my 1C1R second. This person provides no surnames or places and no family tree. My uncle is my closest match, and I know my 2nd closest match, a 1C1R on my mother’s side. is likely related on my father’s side, but because her known ancestors are not from Romania, our common ancestor(s) is/are likely too far back to determine.Īt Family Tree DNA, I have 33,154 matches.

only 30% of my dna matches my father

You can see that we triangulate on 6 segments, which indicate that those may have been passed down from one or more common ancestors. I have circled in red the segment triangulations, that is, where I and my uncle match and I match R.E. All matches are 6 cM or more:Īnd then from my uncle’s account, I can compare my uncle’s segment matches with me (blue and exactly the same as above) and compare them to my uncle’s segment matches with R.E. There is one nice thing I can do at Family Tree DNA is from my account, look at my segment matches with my uncle (blue) and compare them to my segment matches with R.E. should match me as well, and she does at 69 cM, which is about half of what my uncle matches, and that makes sense because he is 1 generation further back than me. I don’t recognize anyone in my uncle and R.E.’s common matches or any of the ancestral places she has in her profile. She does not have a family tree at FTDNA. I don’t recognize any of R.E.’s ancestral surnames. But Family Tree DNA does say via that little red icon, that it thinks R.E.

only 30% of my dna matches my father only 30% of my dna matches my father

won’t be related along both of their matrilineal lines. My uncle’s mt haplogroup is H3w, so he and R.E.

#Only 30% of my dna matches my father full

Their full ancestry as far back as I can trace was from Romania. I don’t know who R.E., his 2nd closest match is: None-the-less, I think this is a wonderful exercise for anyone to do, and who knows, maybe I’ll be surprised.Īt FamilyTreeDNA, my uncle has 35,914 matches. is plagued with endogamy, meaning some population-based DNA has been passed down implying our common ancestors may be way more than 5 generation back and different matching segments from the same person may be from different common ancestors, possibly even through both my parents.only has records (Romania and Ukraine) that allow me and my relatives to go about 5 generations back, and.I’m not going to go as far as Judy and “resolve” that I identify them in 2022 like she does. But I hadn’t up to now looked closely at my top unknown matches to see if maybe I can identify how they might be related. I identified a couple dozen known, and a few previously unknown relatives among my matches at the various sites. After my DNA test, I tested everywhere else that I could and I uploaded my uncle’s tests to the sites accepting uploads. What Judy described in her blog post sounded like a great idea. My uncle passed away only 6 months later and every time I look at his or my DNA results, I think of him. Soon after, I tested myself there as well. Once we returned, I got my 93 year old uncle, the last in his generation, to willingly take a FamilyTreeDNA test. It was during the 10th Unlock the Past genealogy cruise with a bunch of other Hobbitoners as we traversed around New Zealand and Australia. Judy was the person who prompted, well um, pushed me into getting into DNA testing. In it, Judy resolves to try to identify her “top who-is-this-person-match” at each testing company. Judy Russell just released a very interesting post: The 2022 DNA goals on her blog The Legal Genealogist.














Only 30% of my dna matches my father